Situation of human rights in Burundi



UN Body

Human Rights Council



Session Type


Agenda Item


Country Concerned





  • The resolution condemns human rights violations in Burundi and calls on the government to remedy the violations, including by guaranteeing fundamental freedoms and independence of the judiciary. The resolution also extends the mandate of the Special Rapporteur.
  • Moreover, the resolution was adopted under Item 4, the primary framework for addressing country-specific human rights situations, signaling criticism.

Main Sponsors

European Union


Yes - 20, No - 10, Abstain - 17, Absent - 0

Key Praise


Key Criticism

  • "Expressing deep concern about the ongoing human rights violations and abuses in Burundi, and regretting the lack of cooperation of the Government of Burundi with the Human Rights Council and its mechanisms…"
  • "Strongly condemns all human rights violations and abuses committed in Burundi…"
  • "Urges the Government of Burundi to guarantee the rights to freedom of opinion, expression, peaceful assembly and association, and deplores the reduced space for civil society, citizen activism, political participation and a free and fair judiciary…"
  • "Condemns the widespread impunity for all human rights violations and abuses, and urges the Government of Burundi to hold all perpetrators, regardless of their affiliation or status, including members of defence and security forces and of the ruling party’s youth league, the Imbonerakure, accountable for their actions…"
  • "Calls upon the Government of Burundi to guarantee the independence of the judiciary from the executive branch."
  • "Calls upon the Government of Burundi to refrain from all acts of intimidation or reprisal against human rights defenders…"
  • "Decides to extend the mandate of Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Burundi for a further period of one year."

Full Vote

  • Yes20

    • Argentina
    • Belgium
    • Chile
    • Costa Rica
    • Czech Republic
    • Finland
    • France
    • Georgia
    • Germany
    • Honduras
    • Kazakhstan
    • Lithuania
    • Luxembourg
    • Mexico
    • Montenegro
    • Paraguay
    • Romania
    • Ukraine
    • United Kingdom
    • United States
  • No10

    • Algeria
    • Bolivia
    • Cameroon
    • China
    • Cuba
    • Eritrea
    • Gabon
    • Pakistan
    • Somalia
    • Sudan
  • Abstain17

    • Bangladesh
    • Benin
    • Ivory Coast
    • Gambia
    • India
    • Kyrgyzstan
    • Malawi
    • Malaysia
    • Maldives
    • Morocco
    • Nepal
    • Qatar
    • Senegal
    • South Africa
    • United Arab Emirates
    • Uzbekistan
    • Vietnam
  • Absent0