UN resolution to expel Iran from women’s commission will pass 28 to 11

November 2, 2022 — UN Watch estimates that if its draft resolution is introduced to expel the Islamic Republic of Iran from the UN Commission on the Status of Women, the motion would pass by an overwhelming vote of 28 to 11, with 15 abstaining or absent.

UN Watch reached these figures by analyzing how members of the UN’s Economic and Social Council, which determines the membership of UN functional commissions, voted on the last UN General Assembly resolution (A/RES/76/178) condemning the Iranian regime for its abuses of human rights.

“This is very encouraging news,” said Hillel Neuer, executive director of the independent non-governmental organization UN Watch, based in Geneva. “It is reasonable to assume that those countries that were willing to publicly condemn Iran last year would be willing to support a resolution to expel Iran from a commission on women’s rights.”

“Indeed, the vote result earlier this year on expelling Russia from the Human Rights Council closely tracked how countries had voted earlier on condemning Russia in a General Assembly resolution,” said Neuer.

“It’s entirely possible that some countries that voted yes on the General Assembly resolution may prefer to abstain, because it’s unprecedented to remove a member state from the Commission on the Status of Women, but either way, the number are overwhelming.”

“For the resolution to pass, one only needs more votes in favor than those opposed, and right now it seems only about 11 countries on ECOSOC are willing to side openly with Iran.”

“Bottom line: if our resolution is introduced today, it will surely pass. We just need one member state of ECOSOC with the courage to introduce it.”


How ECOSOC member states voted on the UNGA Resolution on the situation of human rights in the Islamic Republic of Iran (A/RES/76/178, December 2021)

  • Yes — 28 (Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liberia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Portugal, South Korea, United Kingdom, United States of America)


  • No — 11 (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, China, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Nicaragua, Oman, Russia, Zimbabwe)


  • Abstain — 13 (Belize, Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mexico, Nigeria, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania)


  • Absent — 2 (Congo and Eswatini)



UN Watch